Alberta media news, events, awards & personalities

2011 Alberta Film & Television Awards Finalists Announced

Edmonton filmmaker Josh Miller seems to have a winner on his hands with, Anash, his latest television project and hopes to see the same success with his next movie, scheduled for an Edmonton shoot later this year. Miller plans to start filming the low-budget feature film, Darren Gets Whacked, sometime in August, with Jason Mewes in the starring role. “Mewes is Jay in the Silent Bob movies, kind of the stoner character,” Miller said. “It’s that kind of movie.”  CBC’s Calgary-based family show Heartland has landed 10 Rosie nominations, tying with Edmonton animated series Anash and the Legacy of the Sun-Rock, Cycle II for the most nods this year.

Read more

Juno Award Winners 2011

(from Broadcaster Magazine, March 28, 2011) A procession of Canadian music stars took to the stage for Canada’s biggest night in music, The 2011 JUNO Awards. CTV’s special two-and-a-half hour anniversary broadcast of the Awards experienced power-packed performances, tributes to 40 years of the JUNO Awards, and eight winning categories announced.

Read more

2011 Alberta Magazine Award Winners Announced

The Alberta Magazine Awards were presented at the Alberta Magazine Excellence Gala as a celebration of the Alberta magazine industry. The awards included new Showcase Awards and Achievement Awards, cash and art prizes, plus all that glorious glory.

Showcase Awards Winners

For the Showcase Awards, AMPA member magazines and their contributors submitted entries in six categories. Showcase entries were evaluated by either a design or editorial judging panel. Congratulations to these very deserving award-winners and finalists:

Best Alberta Story

  • Techlife, “Declaration of Independence” by Scott Messenger ** Winner**
  • Techlife, “The Right Ingredients” by Mifi Purvis (Finalist)
  • Avenue Calgary, “Olympic Connections” by Jaelyn Molyneux, Lynda Sea, Jesse Semko (Finalist)

Best Cover

  • Alberta Venture, “The Green Issue” Kim Larson, art director; Pierre Javelle, illustrator **Winner**
  • Oilweek, “Global Canucks” Ken Bessie, art director (Finalist)
  • Routes, “Terry Grant” Sharon Syverson, art director; Neville Palmer, photographer (Finalist)

Best Feature Design

  • Wine Access, “Taste to Go” Teresa Johnston, art director; Jared Sych, photographer; Joy Lee, food stylist   **Winner**
  • Alberta Venture, “The Money Issue” Kim Larson, art director; Colin Way, photographer (Finalist)
  • Avenue Calgary, “4 Ways to Stampede” Anders Knudsen, art director; Jared Sych, photographer (Finalist)

Best Illustration

  • Alberta Venture, “Aerospace” Sonia Roy, illustrator; Kim Larson, art director **Winner**
  • Avenue Calgary, “Outdoor Activity Guide” Andrea Wan, illustrator; Mason Hastie, art director (Finalist)
  • Routes, “Marvelous Music” Sharon Syverson, art director and illustrator (Finalist)

Best Photo

  • Alberta Venture, “The Final Cut” Aaron Pedersen, photographer; Kim Larson, art director **Winner**
  • Alberta Oil, “Long Shadow” Michael Morrison, photographer; Kim Larson, art director (Finalist)
  • Conservation, “Rainbow Trout” Darren Jacknisky, photographer (Finalist)

Best Short Editorial

  • Impact, “You Can Run But You Can’t Hide” by Peter Estabrooks **Winner**
  • Routes, “Right in the Folking Living Room” by Peter Worden (Finalist)
  • Western Living, “The Salmon Chronicles” by Neal Mclennan (Finalist)

Achievement Awards Winners

The nominees for Achievement Awards have been recognized by their peers as having made a significant contribution to Alberta’s magazine publishing industry:

Best New Magazine

  • Eighteen Bridges **Winner**
  • Canada’s New World
  • The PEG
  • Red Deer Living

Editor of the Year

  • Kathe Lemon, Avenue Calgary **Winner**
  • Nora Abercrombie, Westword (Honourable Mention)
  • Karen Crowdis, Birthing (Honourable Mention)
  • Anne Beaty, Airdrie Life
  • Ellen Percival, Calgary’s Child
  • Jenn Schmidt-Rempel, Lethbridge living
  • Sandra Wiebe, Routes
  • Jim Zang, Okotoks Living

Volunteer of the Year

  • Claire Lacey, Dandelion **Winner**
  • Karen Crowdis, Birthing

Achievement in Publishing

  • Rob Tanner, Publisher, Tanner Young Publishing Group **Winner**
  • Karen Crowdis, Editor-in-Chief, Birthing
  • Barbara Dacks, Publisher, [former] Legacy
  • Gary Davies, Executive Vice-President, RedPoint Media Group Inc.
  • Tom Tait, Publisher, Galleries West

Congratulations to all of the winners, finalists and nominees!

RTNDA Canada Announces Prairie Regional Award Recipients

RTNDA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the Prairie Region when it presents its annual awards in Saskatoon on April 9, 2011. The RTNDA Canada Awards are given to honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in both radio and television.

Read more

Marilyn Jones, Edmonton, Alberta ABOUT ME
I am Marilyn Jones, a news junkie with a penchant for publishing, politics, communications, gardening, hiking, reading, the arts and training nonprofit organizations in media relations and social media communications in Alberta (BA in English with Honours, U of A; Master of Publishing, SFU)