Alberta media news, events, awards & personalities

2011 Alberta Book Publishing Awards Finalists Announced

The finalists of the 2011 Alberta Book Publishing Awards have been chosen. Jurors have deliberated over 90 entries to select 34 finalists in 11 categories and have chosen their shortlists for Book Design (3 awards), Book of the Year (6 awards), the Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence and Publisher of the Year. The  Lifetime Achievement Award, will posthumously recognize Dennis Johnson for his long service to the Book Publishers Association of Alberta and to Alberta’s book publishing industry.

Read more

Myrna Kostash Wins 2011 City of Edmonton Book Prize for Prodigal Daughter: A Journey to Byzantium

Myrna Kostash, author of Prodigal Daughter: A Journey to Byzantium (University of Alberta Press), received The 2011 City of Edmonton Book Prize. Presented annually at the Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts, this award is carried out through a partnership between The City of Edmonton and the Writers Guild of Alberta. The award, now increased to $10,000, is sponsored by Audrey’s Books and the Edmonton Arts Council.

Read more

Veteran News Broadcaster Bruce Hogle Named to Alberta Order of Excellence

Veteran news broadcaster Bruce Hogle is among six Albertans named Tuesday, May 3, 2011 to the Alberta Order of Excellence. Hogle, whose journalism brought about the creation of the Alberta Crimes Compensation Board, is joined by family lawyer Patricia Blocksom, architect Martin Cohos and former Alberta Conservative MLA Walter Paszkowski. Also named are Calgary author Aritha Van Herk and Eric Rajah. Rajah is the co-founder of A Better World, a Lacombe-based and volunteer-run organization that works to fund education, infrastructure, health, food security and other projects in Third World nations.

Webby Award Winners Announced for the Best of the Internet

Justin Bieber took home his first Webby Award despite comedy website’s Twitter campaign to “steal” votes from the young pop star, their major competition in the Comedy: Individual Short or Episode category. Bieber was just one of a variety of winners at the 15th Annual Webby Awards, which celebrates the best of the Internet. From Twitter to Team Coco: this year’s awards show will honor a wide variety of entrants – in categories such as activism, music, comedy short and sports – for their excellence in website design, interactive advertising, film and video, mobile and apps.

See the list of Webby Award Winners

Digital Alberta Awards | June 6, 2011 | Calgary

The Digital Alberta Awards, formerly known as the MediaFresh Awards, is a program designed to recognize leaders in innovation, creativity and the evolving digital media sector in Alberta.  This year they have introduced categories to include companies that may not traditionally be considered in the realm of ‘digital media’, but have pioneered much advancement such as financial services and education.

Read more

Marilyn Jones, Edmonton, Alberta ABOUT ME
I am Marilyn Jones, a news junkie with a penchant for publishing, politics, communications, gardening, hiking, reading, the arts and training nonprofit organizations in media relations and social media communications in Alberta (BA in English with Honours, U of A; Master of Publishing, SFU)