Alberta media news, events, awards & personalities

Western Magazine Award Finalists Announced, Winners to be Announced on June 17, 2011

The Western Magazine Awards Foundation (WMAF) honours and celebrates editorial excellence in western Canadian magazine writing, photography, illustration and art direction. This is accomplished through an annual awards competition, a gala event where winners are announced and recognized with cash prizes, and Magazines West—a two day industry-specific professional development seminar.  Here are the finalists for the 29th Annual Western Magazine Awards:

Read more

Alberta Book Publishing Award Winners Announced on June 11, 2011

The Writers Guild of Alberta (WGA) and the Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) announced the winners of the 2011 Alberta Book Publishing Awards, the Alberta Literary Awards, and the highly anticipated Alberta Readers’ Choice Award tonight. About 250 people attended the 2011 Alberta Book Awards Gala, a joint celebration that celebrated excellence and innovation in Alberta writing and book publishing.
Journalist Brenda Finley gave an entertaining keynote address, and many authors and publishers were celebrated for their achievements during the past year.

Read more

Writers Guild of Alberta Announces 2011 Alberta Literary Award Winners

The Writers Guild of Alberta revealed the winners of the 2011 Alberta Literary Awards in Calgary on June 11, 2011 in conjunction with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta’s Alberta Book Publishing Awards. More than 200 writers attended the 2011 Alberta Book Awards Gala, part of The Writers Guild of Alberta’s “Writing the History, Inscribing the Future” 30th Anniversary Conference.

Read more

2011 Digital Alberta Award Winners Announced

It was a night to remember, the brass horn grooves from InFunkstignation, the vivaciousness and wit of Emcee Camilla DiGiuseppe, the paparazzi snapping glamour shots and the champagne flowing… it was indeed an evening of Old World Hollywood style glamour… made even better by recognizing the “Best In Breed”of Alberta’s Digital Media industry.  The Honourable Lindsay Blackett, Minister of Culture and Community Spirit even delivered our Outstanding Achievement Award!

Read more

2011 Sterling Award Winners to be Announced June 27, 2011

PricewaterhouseCoopers & the 2011 Sterling Committee are proud to present the 24th Annual Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards, celebrating the professional theatre in Edmonton. The 24th Annual Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards will take place at The Mayfield Dinner Theatre, 16615 – 109 Avenue on Monday June 27th beginning at 4:30pm for cocktails with dinner at 5:00pm and show promptly at 6:30pm. After the show is a celebration with dancing and regaling ‘till all hours sponsored by Axe Productions.

Read more

Marilyn Jones, Edmonton, Alberta ABOUT ME
I am Marilyn Jones, a news junkie with a penchant for publishing, politics, communications, gardening, hiking, reading, the arts and training nonprofit organizations in media relations and social media communications in Alberta (BA in English with Honours, U of A; Master of Publishing, SFU)