Alberta media news, events, awards & personalities

Calgary Theatre Critics’ Awards to be Announced July 24, 2013

Calgary theatreCalgary Theatre Critics, Stephen Hunt of the Calgary Herald, Louis B. Hobson of the Calgary Sun and Jessica Goldman of CBC’s The Eyeopener and announced the nominees for the second annual Calgary Theatre Critics’ Awards. Nominees were chosen from any production performed in Calgary between August, 2012 and June, 2013, with the exception of Broadway Across Canada performances. The winners will be announced at a free public award ceremony at 8pm on July 24th at The Libertine Public House, 223 8 Ave SW.

Read more

Banff World Media Festival Announces Rocky Award Winners for 2013

Rocky AwardsCBC’s Heartland and The Nature of Things were among the winners of Rocky Awards, given out annually to the best television programming from around the world. The awards were presented Sunday, June 9 at the Banff World Media Festival in Banff, Alta. Heartland, the drama about a family running a horse ranch in the Alberta foothills, won the award for best youth fiction program for an episode titled “Great Expectations” that aired last December in the sixth season. The Nature of Things took the prize for environmental and wildlife programs for an episode titled “Andean Adventure” in which host David Suzuki explored the Ecuadoran experiment with not drilling for oil and Bolivia’s plan to build on the discovery of lithium in the country.

Read more

Alberta Winners Announced at the Western Magazine Awards

Western Magazine AwardsThe Alberta Magazine Publishers Association (AMPA) reports that on Friday, June 21, 2013, the winners of the Western Magazine Awards were announced in Vancouver. Alberta Oil is the proud recipient of Trade Magazine of the Year (Alberta/NWT), and Eighteen Bridges once again received the coveted Magazine of the Year (Alberta/NWT). Congratulations to these AMPA-member winners, and to all of the talented winners and finalists. And the Alberta winners are…

Read more

Radio & Television News Directors Announce Winners of the RTDNA Canada Awards

RTNDA Awards 2013RTDNA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists celebrated excellence in electronic journalism by announcing the winners of the RTDNA Canada Awards on Saturday, June 15, 2013. The Awards honour the very best in programming, stations and newsgathering organizations in radio, television and on digital platforms in Canada. All submissions must be produced by a licensed Canadian broadcaster or news service and broadcast between January 1st and December 31st, 2012. Entries are divided into ‘regional’ or ‘network’ categories. A network entry is one that was produced for broadcast in more than one market. If an entry is produced with the intent that it was to be broadcast in one market, but was subsequently broadcast in other markets, it qualifies as a regional entry. And the winners are…

Read more

AWNA Celebrates Award Winning Weekly Newspapers in Alberta

AWNA Weekly Newspaper AwardsThe Alberta Weekly Newspapers Association (AWNA) encourages excellence by sponsoring an annual provincial competition to celebrate the achievements of its member newspapers. Newspapers compete against other newspapers of similar circulation for special awards in such categories as editorial, photography, advertising and special promotion. The 2012 Better Newspapers Competition Awards of Excellence were presented by the AWNA at their annual general meeting and convention held in Edmonton on June 7, 2013. And the winners are…

Read more

Marilyn Jones, Edmonton, Alberta ABOUT ME
I am Marilyn Jones, a news junkie with a penchant for publishing, politics, communications, gardening, hiking, reading, the arts and training nonprofit organizations in media relations and social media communications in Alberta (BA in English with Honours, U of A; Master of Publishing, SFU)