Alberta-Literary-AwardsThe Writers’ Guild of Alberta announced the finalists for the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards on April 8. Each year, the Alberta Literary Awards recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors. Winners will be announced and awards presented at the Alberta Literary Awards Gala on June 4, 2016 in MacDonald Hall at SAIT in Calgary. The celebration will take place alongside the WGA 2016 Conference, “Creativity and Happiness.”

The awards jurors deliberated on more than 200 submissions to select 25 finalists in these eight categories. Finalists represent excellence in literary work written by Alberta authors and published or created in 2015.

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature

  • Kate A. Boorman (Edmonton) – Winterkill, Abrams/Amulet
  • Sigmund Brouwer (Red Deer) – Thief of Glory, WaterBrook Press
  • Lorna Schultz Nicholson (Edmonton) – Fragile Bones: Harrison and Anna, Clockwise Press

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction (Supported by Tony Johnson)

  • Marcello Di Cintio (Calgary) – “The Gifted Tag,” Swerve
  • Jane Harris (Lethbridge) – “The Unheard Patient,” Alberta Views
  • Julie Sedivy (Calgary) – “The Strange Persistence of First Languages,” Nautilus

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story

  • Kate French (Calgary) – “Spiders,” FreeFall
  • Richard Van Camp (Edmonton) – “Born a Girl,” Enfield & Wizenty
  • Thomas Wharton (Edmonton) – “Filters,” FreeFall

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

  • Jalal Barzanji (Edmonton) – Trying Again to Stop Time, University of Alberta Press
  • Christian Bök (Calgary) – The Xenotext: Book 1, Coach House
  • Marilyn Dumont (Edmonton) – The Pemmican Eaters, ECW Press
  • Alice Major (Edmonton) – Standard Candles, University of Alberta Press

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award

  • Ali Bryan (Calgary) –“Let’s Talk”
  • Diana Davidson (Edmonton) –“An Ex-Wife’s Tale”
  • Elizabeth Withey (Edmonton) – “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

  • Beth Graham (Edmonton) – The Gravitational Pull of Bernice Trimble
  • Rose Scollard (Calgary) – Aphra
  • David van Belle and Eric Rose (Calgary) – The Last Voyage of Donald Crowhurst

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

  • Stephen Bown (Canmore) – White Eskimo: Knud Rasmussen’s Fearless Journey Into the Heart of the Arctic, Douglas & McIntyre
  • Will Ferguson (Calgary) – Road Trip Rwanda, Viking Canada (Penguin)
  • Andrew Nikiforuk (Calgary) – Slick Water, Greystone

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

  • Tracey Lindberg (Edmonton) – Birdie, Harper Collins
  • Bradley Somer (Calgary) – Fishbowl, St. Martin’s/Raincoast
  • Richard Van Camp (Edmonton) – Night Moves, Enfield & Wizenty

For more information see: