Edmonton Film PrizeSix finalists are in the running for the Edmonton Film Prize. AMPIA received 28 entries including a mix of feature length dramatic films, documentaries, web series, short films and experimental collaborations. The first prize of $8000.00 will be awarded to the winner at a reception at Grant Macewan – Robbins Center on January 12, 2016. The annual prize recognizes Edmonton-based filmmakers who demonstrate artistic and technical excellence as a filmmaker.

And the finalists are:

Trevor Anderson for The Little Deputy
The film focuses on an awkward father-and-son moment in a kitschy 1980s western photo parlour.

Eva Colmers for 2.57k
Far away, inexplicable forces shape matter into form. And so life begins: people arise from dust and are drawn to each other by the magical frequency of 2,750 Hz. A captivating, beautiful and stirring experimental short film .

Blake McWilliams for Glory River
The film follows Noah Gallagher, a talented hockey player from a small town whose been told that he was destined to make the NHL since childhood.

Adam Scorgie for The Culture High
A documentary that tears into the very fibre of modern day marijuana prohibition to reveal the truth behind the arguments and motives governing both those who support and oppose the existing pot laws.

Mike Siek & Eden Munro for Dead Venues
A fond look back at some of Edmonton’s most beloved, “gone-but-not-forgotten” music venues.

Niobe Thompson for the Great Human Odyssey
Anthropologist Niobe Thompson takes a journey of discovery in the footsteps of our human ancestors, and unlocks the mystery of our unlikely survival and miraculous emergence as the world’s only global species.

The Edmonton Film Prize will be awarded at a reception hosted at MacEwan University on January 12, 2016 alongside the Edmonton Music Prize.

Tuesday, January 12 at 4:30 PM – 6:00 PM
Grant Macewan – Robbins Center
10910 104 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta, T5J 4S2

This event is free and open for all to attend. Appetizers and cash bar on site.

The awards are sponsored by the City of Edmonton through the Edmonton Arts Council, and administered by Alberta Music (the Alberta Music Industry Association) and AMPIA (Alberta Media Productions Industries Association). A 1st prize of $8000.00 will be awarded to each winner, in film and music, and two prizes of $1000.00 will be awarded to the runners-up. There will be two runners-up for each prize in film and music.

See more info at: http://ampia.org/edmonton-film-prize 


And the Winners Are:

Grand Prize Winner:

The Great Human Odyssey (Niobe Thompson) is a journey of discovery in the footsteps of our human ancestors. Niobe Thompson unlocks the mystery of our unlikely survival and miraculous emergence as the world’s only global species. Anthropologist and double-Gemini winning filmmaker Niobe Thompson has a PhD from Cambridge University’s Scott Polar Research Institute and co-founded Clearwater Documentary in 2008. The Great Human Odyssey features a live symphonic and choral score by Edmonton-born Daren Fung, recorded with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra.

First Runner Up:

2.57k (Eva Colmers) This unique short film arose from the intense collaboration process with two remarkable Edmonton artists – sand-sound installation artist Gary James Joynes and DOP/editor aAron Munson. Following two bold dancers, the film is a daring, sensual and visually astonishing depiction of life’s eternal patterns of attraction and repulsion.

Second Runner up:

The Little Deputy (Trevor Anderson) The film is a hybrid documentary-Western that debuted at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival. In the film, director/writer Trevor Anderson recreates a photo shoot he did with his Dad at West Edmonton Mall as a child. The recreation brings fantasy to life.