2014-Alberta-Literary-AwardsThe Writers’ Guild of Alberta announced the winners of the 201 4 Alberta Literary Awards in Calgary on June 6, 2013 in conjunction with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta’s Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the Edmonton Public Library’s Alberta Readers Choice Award. More than 200 writers attended the 2014 Alberta Book Awards Gala, part of The Writers’ Guild of Alberta’s 2014 Calgary Conference, “ After the Flood, Alberta Writers Unite One Year Later. ”

Highlights of the evening include:

  • Karen Bass received the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature for her book, Graffiti Knight.
  • Ali Bryan ’s first novel, Roost , received honor as the recipient of the Georges Bugnet Award for fiction.
  • After recently being declared as the winner of The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize, Tyler Trafford walked away with the Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction for his book, Almost a Great Escape.
  • Rising Calgary playwright, Arun Lakra received the Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama for his second play, Sequence .
  • The Stephan G. Stephansson award for Poetry was awarded to Paul Zits for Massacre Street.
  • Peace River – based travel writer, Trina Moyles received the Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award for her piece, “The Chicken Feather.”
  • Eighteen Bridges editor, Curtis Gillespie won the James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction for his piece “In the Chair: Clippings From Around the World. ”
  • Edmonton author, Jasmina Odor walked away with the Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story for her piece, “His.”
  • The Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Prize went to “ Night/light” by Kim McCullough.
  • This year’s WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement was awarded to Edmonton’s Alice Major.

This celebration marked the 32nd anniversary of the Alberta Literary Awards and brought writers from across Alberta and Canada.

About the Alberta Literary Awards

The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors. This year, jurors deliberated over 212 submissions to select 27 finalists in nine categories. The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is the largest provincial writers’ organization in Canada, and was formed in 1980 to provide a meeting ground and collective voice for the writers of the province. Its mission is to inspire, connect, support, encourage and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and to read, and to advocate for the well – being of writers .

For more information on the Alberta Literary Awards, contact the Writers’ Guild of Alberta at (780) 422 – 8174 or visit www.writersguild.ab.ca.

 2014 Alberta Book Publishing Award Winners

Book Cover/Jacket Design Award
Athabasca University Press
The Wages of Relief: Cities and the Unemployed in Prairie Canada, 1929-39, by Alan Grant and Mark Zuehlke
Designer: Marvin Harder

Book Design Award
Freehand Books
The Dilettantes, by Michael Hingston
Designer: Natalie Olsen

Book Illustration Award
Renegade Arts
The Loxleys and the War of 1812 2nd Edition, by Alan Grant and Mark Zuehlke
Illustrators: Claude St. Aubin and Lovern Kindzierski

Trade Fiction Award
NeWest Press
Love at Last Sight, by Thea Bowering

Trade Non-Fiction Award
University of Alberta Press
Disinherited Generations: Our Struggle to Reclaim Treaty Rights for First Nations Women and their Descendants
By Nellie Carlson & Kathleen Steinhauer, as told to Linda Goyette

Children and Young Adult Award
Renegade Arts
The Loxleys and the War of 1812 2nd Edition, by Alan Grant and Mark Zuehlke

Educational Award
Frontenac House
The Great Black North: Contemporary African Canadian Poetry, edited by Edited by Valerie Mason-John & Kevan Anthony Cameron

Speculative Fiction Award
Tyche Books
One’s Aspect to the Sun, by Sherry D. Ramsey

Scholarly and Academic Award
University of Alberta Press
The Peace-Athabasca Delta: Portrait of a Dynamic Ecosystem, by Kevin P. Timoney

Scholarly and Academic Award Honourable Mention
University of Calgary Press
Wilderness and Waterpower: How Banff National Park Became a Hydro-Electric Storage Reservoir, by Christopher Armstrong and H.V. Nelles

Robert Kroetsch Poetry Award
Frontenac House
The Great Black North: Contemporary African Canadian Poetry, edited by Valerie Mason-John & Kevan Anthony Cameron

Lois Hole Editorial Excellence Award
Athabasca University Press
Xwelíqwiya: The Life of a Stó:lō Matriarch, by Rena Point Bolton and Richard Daly
Edited by Pamela Holway

Publisher of the Year Award
Freehand Books
Publisher: Kelsey Attard

Lifetime Achievement Award
John King, formerly with the University of Calgary Press

For more information on the Alberta Book Publishing Awards see: www.bookpublishers.ab.ca/programs/awards.