2014-Alberta-Literary-AwardsThe Writers’ Guild of Alberta (WGA) announced the finalists for the 2014 Alberta Literary Awards on April 11.The Alberta Literary Awards recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors.  Awards jurors have deliberated 212 submissions to select 27 finalists in nine categories. Finalists represent extraordinary literary work written by Alberta authors and published in 2013.

2014 Alberta Literary Awards Shortlist:

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature

  • Karen Bass (Hythe) – Graffiti Knight, Pajama Press
  • Hazel Hutchins (Canmore) – The Great Bike Rescue, Orca Book Publishers
  • Gail Sidonie Sobat (Edmonton) – Not With A Bang, Magpie Books/Palimpsest Press

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

  • Ali Bryan (Calgary) – Roost, Freehand Books
  • Lynn Coady (Edmonton) – Hellgoing, House of Anansi Press
  • Theresa Shea (Edmonton) – The Unfinished Child, Brindle & Glass Publishing Ltd.

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

  • Jessica Kluthe (Edmonton) – Rosina, The Midwife, Brindle & Glass Publishing Ltd.
  • Tyler Trafford (Calgary) – Almost a Great Escape, Goose Lane Editions
  • Chris Turner (Calgary) – The War on Science, Greystone Books

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

  • Arun Lakra (Calgary) – Sequence
  • Jana O’Connor (Edmonton) – The Lonely Hearts
  • Andrew Torry (Calgary) – Badger

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

  • Tim Bowling (Edmonton) – Selected Poems, Nightwood Editions
  • David Dowker (Toronto) and Christine Stewart (Edmonton) – Virtualis: Topologies of the Unreal, BookThug
  • Paul Zits (Calgary) – Massacre Street, University of Alberta Press

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction

  • Caterina Edwards (Edmonton) – “Light and Space in the Piazza,” The New Quarterly
  • Curtis Gillespie (Edmonton) – “In the Chair: Clippings From Around the World,” Eighteen Bridges
  • Stuart Thomson (Edmonton) – “Norm Macdonald’s Weird, Wonderful Twitter Book Club,” Ballast Mag

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story

  • Astrid Blodgett (Edmonton) – “New Summer Dresses,” University of Alberta Press
  • Jasmina Odor (Edmonton) – “His,” Eighteen Bridges
  • Audrey Whitson (Edmonton) – “Snow,” Thistledown Press

Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award

  • Alison Hodgins (Kelowna) – “Learning to Fly”
  • Trina Moyles (Peace River) – “The Chicken Feather”
  • Rebecca Schaeffer (Edmonton) – “Climbing Mt Fuji”

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award

  • Ted Bishop (Edmonton) – “A Toddler in Tunis”
  • Jannie Edwards (Edmonton) – “Oh Canada”
  • Kim McCullough (Calgary) – “Night/light”

Winners will be announced and awards presented at the Alberta Book Awards Gala on Friday, June 6, 2014 in conjunction with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta’s (BPAA), Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the Edmonton Public Library’s 2014 Alberta Readers’ Choice Award.  The celebration will take place at the Fairmont Palliser Hotel (133 9th Avenue SW) in Calgary alongside the 2014 WGA Conference: “After the Flood, Alberta Writers Unite One Year Later.” Registration for the Awards Gala and Conference is now open at www.aftertheflood2014.eventbrite.ca. For more information, please call 1-800-665-5354 or visit www.writersguild.ab.ca.

About the Writers’ Guild of Alberta

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is the largest provincial writers’ organization in Canada, and was formed in 1980 to provide a meeting ground and collective voice for the writers of the province. Its mission is to inspire, connect, support, encourage and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and to read, and to advocate for the well-being of writers.