Canadian Screen Awards 2014The second annual Canadian Screen Awards will once again unite film and television in one gala event, showcasing the country’s finest talent in one two-hour, star-studded celebration.  Who will walk the red carpet?  Who will take home the hardware?  Tune in Sunday, March 9, 2014 to find out! In a rare, unprecedented move, Canadian broadcasters CBC, Bell Media, Rogers and Shaw Media are pairing up to host the red-carpet portion of the Canadian Screen Awards on Sunday, March 9, 2014, at 8 p.m. (8:30 NT) on CBC-TV. Each network will have their on-air talent involved in honouring the Canadian celebrities in attendance while counting down to Martin Short’s opening number. The unique cross-network approach allows for a truly collaborative effort to showcase Canadian film and television talent and reach the largest Canadian audience possible.

The show will see etalk’s Ben Mulroney, ET Canada’s Cheryl Hickey, and Entertainment City’s Dina Pugliese, alongside Heather Hiscox and Eli Glasner of CBC on the red carpet, as they interview and celebrate the Canadian actors and directors making their way into the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts. It is a major milestone to have all the broadcasters working on the Canadian Screen Awards which exist to promote the film, television and digital industries,” says Helga Stephenson, CEO Academy Canadian Cinema & Television.

“We welcome their input and thank them for their passion and commitment to these awards. The idea was originally proposed by CBC’s executive director of Studio and Unscripted Content, Jennifer Dettman, to a room filled with the country’s top television executives: Shaw Media’s senior vice president, Content, Barb Williams and vice president, Original Content, Christine Shipton, Rogers’  director of Original Programming, Nataline Rodrigues and Bell Media’s vice president, Communications, Scott Henderson. It was unanimously agreed that uniting to co-produce the red carpet portion of the show would help achieve the goal of celebrating and showcasing Canadian talent in the broadest manner.

Talent confirmed to present at this year’s Canadian Screen Awards include Liane Balaban (The Grand Seduction), Jay Baruchel (The Art of the Steal), Evelyne Brochu (Tom at the Farm), Amanda Brugel (Seed), Arisa Cox (Big Brother Canada), Dave Foley (Spun Out), Cara Gee (Empire of Dirt), The Honourable Shelly Glover (Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages), Lauren Holly (Motive), Matthew Johnson (The Dirties), Mia Kirshner (I Think I Do), Adam Korson (Seed), Jessica Lowndes (90210), Amber Marshall (Heartland), Tatiana Maslany (Orphan Black, Cas & Dylan), Shay Mitchell (Pretty Little Liars), Jon Montgomery (The Amazing Race Canada), Zoie Palmer (Lost Girl), Jessica Paré (Mad Men), Missy Peregrym (Rookie Blue), Jennifer Podemski (Empire of Dirt), Jason Priestley (Call Me Fitz), singer-songwriter Serena Ryder, Anna Silk (Lost Girl), George Stroumboulopoulos (George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight) and David Sutcliffe (Cracked).

Director David Cronenberg will be honoured with the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented by his friend and long-time collaborator, actor Viggo Mortensen.

Tune in to catch these stars and more at the 2014 Canadian Screen Awards airing Sunday, March 9, 2014, beginning at 8 p.m. (8:30 NT) on CBC-TV.

For a full list of Canadian Screen Awards nominees, please visit


About CBC/Radio-Canada

CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages. About the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television is a national, non-profit, professional association dedicated to the promotion, recognition and celebration of exceptional achievements in Canadian film, television and digital media. Unifying industry professionals across Canada, the Academy is a vital force representing all screen-based industries.

About the Canadian Screen Awards and Canadian Screen Week

The Academy’s Canadian Screen Awards is the annual awards show to celebrate the best in film, television and digital media. They are part of Canadian Screen Week (March 3–9, 2014) and the two-hour live broadcast gala will air Sunday, March 9, 2014 at 8 p.m. on CBC-TV.

For media inquiries, please contact: Natalie Petozzi Entertainment Publicist, CBC Communications and Publicity 416 205 2221 (office) / 647 926 6954 (mobile) Suzan Ayscough Director, Communications, Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television 416.366.2227 x231  (office) / 1.800.644.5194 x231 (toll free) Twitter: @Academy_NET, #CdnScreen14