Alberta Literary AwardsThe Writers’ Guild of Alberta (WGA) and the Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) announced the winners of the 2013 Alberta Book Publishing Awards, and the Alberta Literary Awards on Saturday night.  Just over 250 people attended the 2013 Alberta Book Awards Gala, a joint celebration that celebrated excellence and innovation in Alberta writing and book publishing.  CBC’s Shelagh Rogers gave an entertaining keynote address, and many authors and publishers were celebrated for their achievements during the past year. Honorable Mayor Stephen Mandel was among the attendees, and Edmonton’s own Todd Babiak served as the intrepid emcee for the evening.


2013 Alberta Book Publishing Awards Winners

Alberta Book Design Awards

Book Cover/Jacket Design

Freehand Books (imprint of Broadview Press) (Calgary)—Personals by Ian Williams, cover design by Natalie Olsen, Kisstcut Design

Book Design

Freehand Books (imprint of Broadview Press) (Calgary)—Seen Reading by Julie Wilson, book design by Natalie Olsen, Kisscut Design

Alberta Book of the Year Awards


Children & Young Adult Book Award

Tiberius Publishing (Banff)—From Blue to Red by Ross McIntyre


Scholarly and Academic Book Award

University of Calgary Press (Calgary)—The Reindeer Botanist: Alf Erling Porsild, 1901–1977 by Wendy Dathan


Trade Fiction Book Award

Freehand Books (imprint of Broadview Press) (Calgary)—The Crimes of Hector Tomás by Ian Colford


Trade-Nonfiction Book Award

NeWest Press (Edmonton)—Those Who Know: Profiles of Alberta’s Aboriginal Elders by Dianne Meili


Robert Kroetsch Poetry Book Award

NeWest Press (Edmonton)—Restless White Fields by Barbara Langhorst


Education Book Award

The NS Group (Edmonton)—Ten Steps to Help You Write Better Essays and Term Papers by Neil Sawers


Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence

Freehand Books (imprint of Broadview Press) (Calgary)—Every Wolf’s Howl: A Memoir by Barry Grills, edited by Robyn Read

2013 Alberta Literary Awards Winners


R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (Supported in Memory of Mary Woodbury)

Joan Marie Galat (Spruce Grove) – The Discovery of Longitude, Pelican Publishing Company

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
(Sponsored by The Banff Centre)

Richard Van Camp (Edmonton) – Godless But Loyal to Heaven, Enfield & Wizenty

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

Marcello Di Cintio (Calgary) – Walls: Travels Along the Barricades, Goose Lane Editions

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama
(Sponsored by Alberta Views)

David Cheoros (Edmonton) – Invisible Child

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry
(Supported by Stephan V. Benediktson)

Nora Gould (Edmonton) – I See My Love More Clearly from a Distance, Brick Books

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction

Marcello Di Cintio (Calgary) – “A Hymn in Aramaic,” AlbertaViews Magazine

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story
(Supported by Vanna Tessier and Guy Tessier)

Lee Kvern (Okotoks) – “In Search of Lucinda,”

Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award
(Supported by Ann Campbell)

Sydney Budgeon (Edmonton) – “The Unfinished

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award

Elizabeth Haynes (Calgary) – “Memoria, Justicia, Sin Olvido

Golden Pen Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to George Melnyk, an associate professor in the Department of Communication and Culture at the University of Calgary. He has published a number of books on literature in Alberta including the two volume Literary History of Alberta (2009) along with books on Canadian cinema. In the fall of 2013, he’ll launch his latest book,  Film and the City: The Urban Imaginary in Canadian Cinema published by Athabasca University Press.