Helen FolkmannThe Spirit of Helen Award is an annual award presented in honour of Helen Folkmann, an artist and arts advocate who passed away in 2004. Her creativity, activism, strength and determination inspired and continues to inspire people across Canada, and this award acknowledges an artist, cultural worker or advocate whose contributions to Alberta’s media arts community reflects Helen’s remarkable spirit.


This award is open to all artists and cultural workers in Alberta. Individuals or organizations associated with the Alberta Media Arts community may nominate one candidate per year. Nominations are reviewed by an anonymous peer jury and must be received by May 17th, 2013.

Please include abiography of your nominee (max. one page) and a statement indicating why you are nominating this individual (max. one page). Nominations will be reviewed by an anonymous peer jury. Candidates may not self-nominate and current AMAAS Board and Staff are ineligible for the Spirit of Helen Award.

Recipients are awarded $2000 in cash and a certificate at the AMAAS conference. Award:$2,000 cash award. The award will be presented June 7th-9th at the 2013 AMAAS Conference in Waterton. The successful nominee or representative should be available to attend. Please send your signed (and scanned) nomination form and attachments to AMAAS Executive Director, Kevin Allen, by e-mail: admin@amaas.ca, or by mail to: 901, 1323 15 Ave. SW, Calgary, AB T3C 0X8.

See more at www.amaas.ca.