Alberta Literary AwardsThe Writers’ Guild of Alberta (WGA) announced the finalists for the 2013 Alberta Literary Awards. The Awards recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors. Awards jurors have deliberated 203 submissions to select 27 finalists in nine categories. Finalists represent extraordinary literary work written by Alberta authors and published in 2012. Winners will be announced and awards presented at the Alberta Book Awards Gala on Saturday May 25, 2013 in conjunction with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta’s (BPAA) Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the Edmonton Public Library’s 2013 Alberta Readers’ Choice Award. The celebration will take place at the Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel (10222 – 102 Street) in Edmonton alongside the 2013 Words in 3 Dimensions Conference.


Registration for the Awards Gala and Conference are now open. For more information or for information on how to register, please call 1-800-665-5354 or visit

2013 Alberta Literary Awards Shortlist

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature

  • Marion Brooker (Edmonton) – Tadeo’s Search for Circles, Fitzhenry & Whiteside
  • Joan Marie Galat (Spruce Grove) – The Discovery of Longitude, Pelican Publishing Company
  • Georgia Graham (Lacombe) – Where Wild Horses Run, Red Deer Press

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction (Sponsored by The Banff Centre)

  • Will Ferguson (Calgary) – 419, Viking Canada (Penguin Canada)
  • Naomi K. Lewis (Calgary) – I Know Who You Remind Me Of, Great Plains Publications
  • Richard Van Camp (Edmonton) – Godless But Loyal to Heaven, Great Plains Publications

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

  • Marcello di Cintio (Calgary) – Walls: Travels Along the Barricades, Goose Lane Editions
  • Brian L. Evans (Edmonton) – Pursuing China: Memoir of a Beaver Liaison Officer, University of Alberta Press
  • Andrew Nikiforuk (Calgary)—The Energy of Slaves: Oil and the New Servitude, Greystone Books

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama (Sponsored by Alberta Views)

  • David Cheoros (Edmonton) – Invisible Child
  • Col Cseke (Calgary) – Jim Forgetting
  • Dave Kelly (Calgary) – Dad’s Piano, Lunchbox Theatre

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry (Supported by Stephan V. Benediktson)

  • Jenna Butler (Edmonton) – Wells, University of Alberta Press
  • Nora Gould (Edmonton) – I See My Love More Clearly from a Distance, Brick Books
  • Sandy Pool (Calgary/Toronto) – Undark: An Oratorio, Nightwood Editions

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction

  • Marcello di Cintio (Calgary) – “A Hymn in Aramaic,” Alberta Views Magazine
  • Shaun Hunter (Calgary) – “Skin Deep,” FreeFall Magazine
  • Omar Mouallem (Edmonton) – “The Lives of Others,” Alberta Venture

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story (Supported by Vanna Tessier and Guy Tessier)

  • Kathleen Brown (Calgary) – “Marhawks in Winter,” Filling Station Magazine
  • Lynn Coady (Edmonton) – “Dogs in Clothes,” Canadian Notes & Queries
  • Lee Kvern (Okotoks) – “In Search of Lucinda,” Be a Better Writer

Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award (Supported by Ann Campbell)

  • Sydney Budgeon (Edmonton) – “The Unfinished”
  • Selestia Herrera (Millet) – “Greek Gambles”
  • Julia Seymour (Stony Plain) – “Professions of Love Across the Seine”

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award

  • Nora Abercrombie (Tofield) – “Becoming Canadian”
  • Myrl Coulter (Edmonton) – “Current Crossings”
  • Elizabeth Haynes (Calgary) – “Memoria, Justicia, Sin Olvido”

About the Writers’ Guild of Alberta

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is the largest provincial writers’ organization in Canada, and was formed in 1980 to provide a meeting ground and collective voice for the writers of the province. Its mission is to inspire, connect, support, encourage and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and to read, and to advocate for the well-being of writers. See more about the WGA at