J-Source Canadian JournalismSource, the Canadian Journalism Project,  invited submissions for Canadian Newsperson of the Year and ended up with submissions about 28 of Canada’s best and brightest journalists. This list included innovators, agenda-setters and political shakers. The jury assembled a shortlist of candidates for the 2012 J-Source Canadian Newsperson of the Year from the nominees submitted and narrowed it down to just five finalists.”The jury had an exceedingly difficult time whittling down the excellent list of nominees to a modest shortlist,” said Janice Neil, editor-in-chief of J-Source and a member of the jury. “We’re pleased to present our final contenders who demonstrate innovation in story-telling, by using new and emerging technologies to research, report, present and disseminate stories on all media platforms.”

The Newsperson of the Year award seeks to honour a Canadian who has demonstrated excellence and had a positive impact on the quality of journalism in their community or across the country, perhaps innovating the way news is gathered and told, inspiring journalists, educators, and the Canadian public.

The shortlist for the 2012 J-Source Canadian Newsperson of the Year Award:

  •     Nahlah Ayed (CBC)
  •     Jorge Barrera (APTN)
  •     Stephen Maher (Postmedia) and Glen McGregor (Ottawa Citizen)
  •     Rachel Pulfer (Journalists for Human Rights)
  •     David Skok (GlobalNews.ca)

J-Source did a brief  Q&A with each of the finalists about the award and their work over the last year. Read the Q & As and see the jury’s comment on why each were named to the shortlist.

The winner of the 2012 J-Source Canadian Newsperson of the Year will be announced Feb. 28 at The Canadian Journalism Foundation’s J-Talk in Toronto.