Alberta Magazine AwardsThe Alberta Magazine annual awards program honours the best in the industry and gives the region’s magazine professionals a chance to commend the work of their colleagues. The 2013 Alberta Magazine Awards will be presented at a gala dinner that kicks off the Alberta Magazines Conference on March 14, 2013 at the Carriage House Inn, Calgary. There are five award categories open to anyone in the magazine industry and Showcase Awards which are open to AMPA member magazines only.


Emerging Writer
This category is for non-fiction or journalistic work written by either a current full-time post-secondary student or a magazine intern who has graduated within the past three years. Articles published in magazines (including university/college) based in Western Canadian provinces (B.C., Alberta, Saskatchewan or Manitoba) are eligible. This award goes to the writer whose early work in magazines shows the highest degree of craft and promise. The award was established to honour and preserve the memory of journalist Amber Webb-Bowerman and to help support emerging magazine talent.


Achievement in Publishing    
To qualify, a nominee must have worked a minimum of five years in the Alberta magazine industry. The award is open to all magazine professionals in various areas of publishing, including but not limited to publishers, editors, art directors, freelancers, sales managers and circulation experts. Previous nominees are eligible for this award, but not previous winners.

Editor of the Year
To qualify, magazine editors must have been employed by an Alberta magazine and worked on at least two consecutive issues in the year 2012. Editors of magazines that do not abide by the national Magazine Advertising-Editorial Guidelines are not eligible.

Volunteer of the Year
To qualify, a nominee must have contributed more than 30 volunteer hours in 2012 to a member magazine or to AMPA.

Best New Magazine
To qualify, the magazine must have a head office in Alberta, and began publishing within 18 months of December 31, 2012. Entrants must include an editorial mandate, and four copies of one or two recent issues. Magazines that do not abide by the national Magazine Advertising-Editorial Guidelines are not eligible.

For more information on the Awards see

See more about the Conference at