Edmonton Music AwardsThe second annual Edmonton Music Awards were handed out on Saturday, April 28 at the Royal Alberta Museum in Edmonton. Tupelo Honey was nominated for six awards and won for Album of the Year and Rock Album of the Year. The Joe’s Float of Flail won Rap/Hip Hop Album of The Year, Manuela’s The Golden Story EP was named R&B/Soul Album of the Year, while 100 Mile House’s Hollow Ponds earned Roots/Folk Album of the Year. Two honours were decided by online votes — Shelbi, an up ’n’ coming rock group, picked up Artist To Watch, while Killinger, a hard rock act, won the People’s Choice Award.

Other winners included:

  • Rock veterans Ten Second Epic were named Group of the Year;
  • Pop-roots songstress Colleen Brown scored her second consecutive Female Artist of the Year prize;
  • Folk-roots nomad Scott Cook won Male Artist of the Year;
  • Radio For Help’s Make Today picked up Pop Album of the Year;
  • The Order of Chaos’s Burn These Dreams received Metal Album of the Year;
  • Boogie Patrol’s I Try And I Try And I Don’t Know What To Do … The Plan Was Set Some Time Ago, And We Must Follow Through, dawdled off with Blues Album of the Year;
  • Mieke Maligne’s Just The Sun grabbed Jazz Album of the Year;
  • Danielle Lowe’s Off-limits earned Country Album of the Year.

Lowe, pop-rock vocalist Bryan Finlay, and The Order of Chaos were some of the performers at Saturday’s ceremony, showcasing the city’s deep and diverse talent pool.

The inaugural awards were held over two nights at The Haven Social Club in 2011.

See more about the Edmonton Music Awards.