Canadian Association of JournalistsThe Canadian Association of Journalists announced the finalists for its annual awards for outstanding investigative journalism in Canada for 2011 on March 29, 2012. Three Edmonton-based reporters are nominated: Charles Rusnell and Grant Gelinas for “Crown Conduct” for CBC Edmonton in the Open Radio News/Current Affairs category, also finalists in the Regional Television Category for “Pork Barrel Politics” for CBC Edmonton and Larry Wong from the Edmonton Journal in the Photojournalism category.  The winning entry will receive a $500 cash prize. The winners in each category will be announced April 28, 2012, at the CAJ Awards gala and conference banquet in Toronto, part of the 2012 CAJ conference at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel. Global National anchor and executive editor Dawna Friesen will be the evening’s MC. Early bird rates for the conference end on April 5.

The Don McGillivray Award for the best ‘overall’ investigative report for 2011, judged from the winners of the open newspaper / wire, community newspaper, open television (under 5 minutes), open television (over 5 minutes), magazine, open radio news / current affairs, regional television and CAJ / Marketwire CAR categories, will also be announced at the awards banquet.

Please note that the media outlet listed is where the finalist worked at the time their entry was broadcast/published or where the particular entry was broadcast/published. Finalists are listed alphabetically by media outlet.

See all the CAJ Award finalists

See the CAJ Conference details