The Writers Guild of Alberta (WGA) and the Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) announced the winners of the 2011 Alberta Book Publishing Awards, the Alberta Literary Awards, and the highly anticipated Alberta Readers’ Choice Award tonight. About 250 people attended the 2011 Alberta Book Awards Gala, a joint celebration that celebrated excellence and innovation in Alberta writing and book publishing.
Journalist Brenda Finley gave an entertaining keynote address, and many authors and publishers were celebrated for their achievements during the past year.
The second annual $10,000.00 Alberta Readers’ Choice Award was presented to Helen Waldstein Wilkes for her novel, Letters from the Lost: A Memoir of Discovery, published by AU Press (Athabasca University).

Lifetime Achievement Award
This award is presented in recognition of an individual’s contribution to Alberta’s book publishing community. We are pleased to announce this award went to Dennis Johnson, for his outstanding work and service within Alberta’s book publishing industry.

Alberta Book Design Awards
Book Cover/Jacket
University of Alberta Press (Edmonton)—The Measure of Paris by Stephen Scobie, cover design by Alan Brownoff

Book Illustration
RMB (Rocky Mountain Books) (Calgary)—The Will of the Land by Peter A. Dettling, illustrated by Peter A. Dettling

Book Design
University of Alberta Press (Edmonton)—Rudy Wiebe: Collected Stories, 1955-2010 by Rudy Wiebe, book design by Alan Brownoff

Children’s & Young Adult Book Award
Tatanka Productions (Rolling Hills)—Little Chief and Mighty Gopher: The Pemmican Frenzy by Victor Lethbridge

Educational Book Award
Maven Publishing (Calgary)—The Little Gold Grammar Book by Brandon Royal

Scholarly & Academic Book Award
The University of Alberta Press (Edmonton)—The Beginning of Print Culture in Athabasca Country by Patricia Demers, Naomi McIlwraith and Dorothy Thunder, Translators

Trade Fiction Book Award
University of Alberta Press (Edmonton)—Rudy Wiebe: Collected Stories, 1955-2010 by Rudy Wiebe

Trade Non-Fiction Book Award
Freehand Books (imprint of Broadview Press) (Calgary)—Bitter Medicine: A Graphic Memoir of Mental Illness by Clem Martini and Olivier Martini

Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence
NeWest Press (Edmonton)—The Collected Works of Pat Lowther by Pat Lowther,
edited by Christine Wiesenthal

Poetry Book Award
NeWest Press (Edmonton)—The Collected Works of Pat Lowther by Pat Lowther

Publisher of the Year
University of Alberta Press (Edmonton)

2011 Alberta Readers’ Choice Award
Helen Waldstein Wilkes – Letters From The Lost: A Memoir of Discovery
Published by AU Press (Athabasca University)

See the Edmonton Journal June 12, 2011 article on the Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the Alberta Literary Awards