The finalists of the 2011 Alberta Book Publishing Awards have been chosen. Jurors have deliberated over 90 entries to select 34 finalists in 11 categories and have chosen their shortlists for Book Design (3 awards), Book of the Year (6 awards), the Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence and Publisher of the Year. The  Lifetime Achievement Award, will posthumously recognize Dennis Johnson for his long service to the Book Publishers Association of Alberta and to Alberta’s book publishing industry.
Award recipients will be announced on Saturday, June 11, 2010 at the Alberta Book Awards Gala at the Calgary Zoo, Safari Lodge. This celebration will be co-hosted by the Book Publishers Association of Alberta and The Writers’ Guild of Alberta. Everyone is welcome to be part of this celebration of excellence in Alberta’s publishing and literary community.

Brenda Finley, a well known Alberta journalist, will give the keynote address. Ken Davis, Host of CKUA’s Bookmark, will emcee the evening. Tickets for the gala are available from the Book Publishers Association of Alberta at 780-424-5060 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 780-424-5060 end_of_the_skype_highlighting or by email at

See the list of finalists for the 2011 Alberta Book Awards.

The Book Publishers Association of Alberta is a provincial association of book publishing companies and is one of the strongest communities of regional publishers in North America.